Optimize PPC Campaigns Without Touching AdWords

For a lot of marketers, Pay-Per-Click campaigns are the preferred strategy to generate conversions on a new product or offering from a brand still requires a competitive edge. Ultimately, even for newcomers to the marketing world, the concept of AdWords, the Google dashboard solution for PPC and other paid-for advertising campaigns, seems appealing. AdWords promises that you’re in charge of your budget at all times. While this is true and you’re never going to spend one cent more than you’ve agreed to, it doesn’t mean that you’ll get the best performance from your campaign. There is indeed a big difference between using AdWords for budget management and using it for PPC optimization. Here are tips to improve your campaigns outside of the AdWords interface.

ppc campaing

Why improving your PPC campaigns within AdWords is risky

If you’re not an AdWords expert, it’s best to leave the tool to professionals. Indeed, despite its easy-to-learn certification, AdWords remains a tool dedicated to experienced marketers. A wrong setup can cost you a lot of money and conversions. Most common errors from newcomers related to keyword segmentation – should you group by theme? By targeting? Both? – the wrong use of extensions, the absence of negative keywords, wrong conversion tracking setup, and the lack of multiple ads testing. 

The secrets of user experience

Before you consider improving your campaigns in AdWords, you might want to focus your attention on developing all other factors external to the dashboard tool first. First of all, the creation of the right landing page can increase conversion rate dramatically. A user-friendly landing page that is designed to take the visitor through the discovery of your offer to the conversion step is key to maximize each visit. Most marketers consider the presence or relevant keywords and a definite offer, but they forget indispensable convincing elements, namely a location map, social proof, team presentation, product features, CTA and an engaging headline.

Improve your brand awareness

Users are more likely to click on ads they recognize, aka from a brand they are familiar with. Consequently, you can’t create a compelling campaign if you haven’t established a promotional strategy to increase brand awareness first. That’s where agencies such as HelloWorld can help you to become more visible to your potential clients. From social media engagement to exciting emailing campaigns, becoming a known name can increase your CTR significantly.

Maximize your SEO performance

For a lot of marketers, PPC strategies appear as a replacement for SEO where organic results were not enough to gain a competitive edge. However, Google AdWords consider the SEO quality and relevance of your website in order to rank your ads in each bid auction. Your SEO performance will also impact on how much you need to spend for a click. In other words, SEO and PPC need to work hand in hand and not as a replacement for each other. Search Engine Land provides a clear guideline to detail the positive outcomes of a good SEO performance on your PPC, from lower CPC to improved CTR.

Consequently, if you’re looking to improve your PPC performance, you don’t need to become an AdWords expert who actively thinks like a programmer. You can make the most of your marketing skills to improve the impact of UX, SEO and brand on your campaigns, before hiring the services of a PPC expert.

Keyword match type in Google Adwords

Choosing the right keyword for your Adwords campaign is the very basic requirement for success of your campaign. Right keywords and the effective bidding make or break any PPC campaign.

When you bid or add keywords in a PPC ad campaign, you need to select the match type of the keywords, which actually tells Google how broadly or restrictively match to the search terms to trigger the ads.

In this tutorial, I’ll help you learn the keyword match types and how they differ from each other and how to use them in your campaign.

Each keyword you add to your adgroup has an option to use a matching type to help control which search terms should trigger your ad to show.

What are the keyword match types in Adwords?

When creating a text ad in your AdWords PPC campaign, keywords match are the sectionalization of the keywords depending on the ads they trigger for a search term. Basically there are 4 types of the keywords such as: broad match, modified broad match, phrase match, or exact match.

Now discuss each of them types one by one…

Using keyword matching options in AdWords

Broad Match:

By default the keywords when added to an adgroup are broad match type; i.e if you don’t specify a particular matching option, the keywords are considered as broad match.

With the default broad match type you can reach wide range of audience with wide variation of search terms. That is because, the broad match type keywords allow the ads to trigger for closely related, synonyms, singular and plural forms, possible misspellings, stemmings (such as clean and cleaning), and other relevant variations of the added main keywords.

For example, if you use a broad match keyword “kittens,” to your campaign, your ad will be displayed for the search terms like “kitten”, “kittens”, “kitten photos”, “kitten images”, “adopt a kitten”, “white kitten”, “kitten calendars”,

Sometimes the broad match keywords also trigger ads for the terms that are not even included in your search term. The search term “expensive vehicles” could trigger an ad for the broad match keyword “luxury cars”, which is a relative variant for the keyword.

Modified Broad Match

The keyword type broad match modifier is the middle between the restrictive search and broad search which allow ads to trigger for the search terms that are close variant and must include the term within the search terms. The individual words are locked by using parameter “+” before the word.

For instance  for the broad modified mathch “+Lead batteries”, it will show the ads for the search terms such as lead batteries, lead battery, lead cell, lead dry cell etc…

Similarly for the broad modified match “ lead +batteries”, it will show the ads for the search terms “lead bateries”, “batteries”, “lithium batteries”, “rechargeable batteries” etc..

Phrase Match Type

The Phrase match type keywords offer a better control over the search terms that could trigger your ads. Like the broad modified keywords it provides a better control over the search terms. Here the ads will only show when the search term has the exact match but other words are accepted either before or after the included keyword. Here the parameter used is inverted commas (“ keyword”).

Phrase match allows your ad to show only for searches that include the exact phrase, or close variations of that exact phrase, with additional words before or after.

For example, if your key phrase is “dog supplier,” your ad could will when a user searches for “dog supplier,” “discount dog supplier,” or ” wholesale dog supplier”, “pet dog supplier”  but not for searches like “pet food,” “pet bird supplies,” or “art supplies.”

Exact match

With exact match, you have the maximum control over your keywords. Exact match type keywords are the most specific and restrictive in nature. Here the ads appear for those keywords that are exactly same as the keyword added to your campaign. So, users can only see your ad when they type your exact keyword phrase by itself.

your ads can appear only when someone searches for your exact keyword, without any other terms in the search. We’ll also show your ad when someone searches for close variations of that specific keyword. Here the parameter used is square brackets[keywords].

For instance if you have added the keyword [women’s hats] to your campaign, the ads will show for the terms “women’s hats”, “woman’s hats”. But not for buy women’s hats or women’s hats on sale

Your Turn
It is very important to work on the optimization of the AdWords keyword match types because it allows you to reach your target audience while downsizing  the unnecessary spend on irrelevant clicks on your campaign. Also with a better strategy you can optimize the keyword match types to increase conversions rate at a very high ROI.

Keyword Match Management in Adwords

Be an experienced practitioner or professional, while setting up an Adwords campaign the keywords and their match type are always a big question for many. Keyword match type management is the very vital not only to improve you quality score, but at the same time it helps you to reach the real audience which increases the ROI.

Many often clients ask us how to use the different types of keyword match option and why to use them. With the article today, I am going to explain you the tips on how to choose keywords for your adwords campaign based upon the keywords matching types.

Using keyword matching options in AdWords

But before that….How keyword matching options help you?

The main aim with the keywords matching options is to give an advertiser full control of the keywords that triggers his ads. In the mean time you can use the search term report and track you keyword variation that showed your ads.

 Google always recommend using broad match keywords to maximize your impressions but that actually makes you lose your money as with the broad match keywords you reach many irrelevant visits too.

In general, with broad keywords you reach more audience, but with narrow keyword/exact math keywords you reach real customers or the most relevant customers and hence better return in investment.

As per the recent updates, Google has introduced 4 types of keyword match management in Google adwords such as Broad, Modified Broad, Phrase, Exact Match Keywords.

Tips to Improve Your Click-Through Rate for your Ads

These days the digital marketing is more inclined to paid media. People refer to use the paid platforms to reach more people effectively and quickly. So optimization of your advertisement copies is absolutely necessary to make it stay apart from crowd and outperform you competition. At the same time it raises your click-through rates (CTRs) and Quality Score. However, the optimization process is purely a trial and error process and takes time to show the results.

What is click-through rate?

The click-through rate is the number of times a click is made on the advertisement divided by the total impressions (the number of times an advertisement was served):

The click-through rate of an online advertisement is represented in percentage and can be defined as the number of clicks received by the number impressions of the ad multiplied by 100

Click-through rate = (Number of Click/ Number of Impressions) * 100

Clickthrough rate CTR AdWords Help

For example, if an ad is displayed 100 times and receives 2 clicks, then the click-through rate for the advertisement would be 2%.

CTR=(5/1000)*100= 0.5%

Based upon different factors, a good CTR is 3%.  But there are chances you can achieve it more. A 3% CTR is good score, but continually improving the metrics of Adrank, you can reach even a better threshold.

Let me help you here cut to the chase. Below are my findings that can help you quickly boost your CTRs for better ROI. But keep in mind this may not fit to every advertiser.

Tips to increase your CTR. Here it goes….

Display URL: Always use WWW in your domain, which works as a physiological factor. In the recent research, it has been seen the non-www version of the urls get 16% less clicks than its counterpart.  You find more details on landing page optimization here.

Special Symbols: Better utilization of the words is important due to the limitation on the number of characters to be used in a paid search advertise. Not every symbol works but ampersand (&) certainly works best. I have see 20% improvement in CTR for the ads with & in place of AND.

Call to Action: Always split test your call-to-action when writing new ads. All call to action words do not work well. There is nothing free in this world. But the ads with word “FREE” perform 10% better than the ads without the term.

Special Words: The researches show that the ads using the work OFFICIAL have a 50% higher CTR. You can check Tiffany & Co. and Apple ads for example

USES Trademark Symbols: Trademark symbols (™, ©, ®) have a dramatic impact on the paid search ad, improving click-through rates by nearly 90 percent in many cases.

Thanks for your time here. You have any unique advice please share in comment.

How to Write a Wining PPC Ad Copy?

Ad copy is the most important component of a paid search campaign. No matter how much you bid or how good you structure your account, at the end of the day it is the your ad content that brings you the clicks.

Write a Winning PPC Ad Copy

Writing effective ad copies is beginning of any successful paid search marketing campaign. But it is not that easy. You have a very limited amount of space available to write your ad copy. Google allows total 95 characters which are distributed as 25 characters for Ad title and 35 characters each for description of the ad copy. You may feel it is not enough to write a strong ad copy but unfortunately you have to. Not only you have to write, but you have to make it meaningful and relevant to reach your targeted audience.

The article is all about how to write wining ad copies that will motivate your audience to click and visit your site. Below mentioned tips will help you in creating better and effective PPC Ads.

Call to Action:

Call-to-action is the most important component of an effective Ad.

Let me describe you. It is because, call-to-action not only asks people to complete the desire action need in the Ads, but at the same time it qualifies the visitor and reduces the expenditure on negative clicks. The call-to-action tells the visitor what they will really get when they click through your Ads.

You need to be careful while writing the call-to action. Pushy call to action like “BUY NOW” in your PPC ad may not work always. Well it depends on your niche though. So do not settle to it until you have tested it.

Also Ad extensions add more reasons to click your ad. Basically ad extensions are extra information shown about your business. You can add it manually or automatically as needed which improves your ad visibility and better clickthrough rate. And the best part is, it does not cost you anything.

You may use the ad extension as below:

  • Link to the additional landing pages
  • Business seller rating
  • To show product images
  • Display physical location in the map
  • Click to phone call number

Keywords in the ad copy

Though many people have different perception, but personally I prefer adding keywords to ad copies which increases the clickthrough rate. Google also provides special feature of dynamic keyword insertion option for advanced ad campaigns while Google automatically adds keywords dynamically at your preferred location in the ad. This is an effective way to ensure the ads to show the user searched query in the ad to make it stand out from generic ads.
Stand Out Of Competition:

Your ad copies should stand out of the competition. What it means is you should make your ad copies unique and interesting. But sometimes you may also need to follow your competitor’s ad copies. Researching on your competitors ads can help you to write a strong ad copy for your campaigns. It is always better to show your USP (also seen as unique selling proposition) to your customers. Your USP is something that your competitors don’t have, and is compelling enough to attract clicks.In the below add you can see how the first ad is different fromother ads. The first one is the only one that is having a rating displayed in the ad which is a best way to grab the attention of the visitor.

Stand Out Of Competition

In the similar way you can use special symbols that can make your ads stand out of the completion.

Writing a kick-ass ad copy in a first attempt is not possible every time. So what you need to do is to test/tweak your ads and track their success time to time.

Again if you got lucky enough to write down a great ad and getting a lot of click. But what is the next???

Appropriate and relevant landing pages are directly related to you sales or conversion. The ad and the content of your landing page are like couples. I will discuss more about landing page optimization in the next articles.

Hope the above tips will help you to develop a winning PPC campaign. You got any suggestion or want to add more tips please do comment.

How to Optimize a Landing Page for Your PPC Campaign?

Getting clicks on your ads are halfway to the success of your PPC campaign. The other half lies in the quality for the landing page that serves the ads. If the landing pages are not optimized well, you are definitely missing many of your potential conversions. So you need to put your best effort and time on landing page optimization.

Landing pages are the special web pages that come to view when we click on some advertisement. Landing page optimization is a part of conversion rate optimization in general where the goal is to improve the conversion or sale. Basically landing page optimization (LPO) aims to offer landing pages more appealing to the customers/visitors.

call to action

Let us find out the important factors of a conversing landing page. I have here listed the most important factors that make a good landing page:

  • Keyword Focused Headline
  • Short and Concise Content
  • Less Escape Route
  • Testimonials and Client Feedbacks
  • Social Signals
  • Ask for Minimum Information
  • Call-To-Action
  • Perform Testing

Keyword Focused Headline:

Probably the headline in a webpage is the first thing the visitor comes across when lands to a page. Once landed to the webpage visitors normally spend only 4-5 seconds in the landing page before he decides whether to stay or quite the page. So by providing clear headlines (keywords in the headlines) in your landing page make people to engage with your story. You can find more about how to write headlines here.

Short and Concise Content:

After clicking on the ads, visitors expect to land on a page that is relevant to their search query. So you need to direct them to a concise and relevant landing page. For instance a woman looking for “bikini tops”, if directed to the home page of the apparel store will never convert. Rather you need to send here to the bikini section of your store.

Make your landing pages specific. By specific, I mean the content of the landing pages must be relevant to your campaign keywords and short. Providing the visitors quick information regarding their search terms keep them engaged. Again the content hierarchy will help in better conversion as all the information in a landing page is not for every visitor.

Less Escape Route:

The landing pages are the entry point to the highly focused sales path. You need to remove any unnecessary site navigation or links in the landing page as they may act as distract. Without the excess baggage like navigation menus, links, advertisements, the visitors are left with only two options – either convert or leave the site.

Testimonials and Client Feedback:

This is an incredibly effective technique. Putting the customer testimonial and client logos can boost your conversion as they create a trust factor among the visitors. Though there is not any specific rule to follow on the placement of the testimonials, but I personally think the right sidebar is the best place to do so.

By putting a phone number in the landing page, it tells people you are legitimate enterprise and there are real people at the end of the line.

Social Signals:

Social signal plays a big factor in conversion. Strong social signal represents a solid reputation and trusted by most visitors.

Ask For Minimum Information:

This could be another deciding factor. Generally people do not want to share more information about them so you should not ask for information you don’t really need.

Call to Action:

Your traffic does not do any good until they convert to your customers. To the get most out of your landing page, the first thing to consider is your calls-to-action. Having an effective call to action is an essential part of any landing page. Again position of your call-to-action is an important factor.

Testing:

Once you are done with a landing page design and content, the next part comes is testing. This is another area where you should put your sincere effort. The testing phase is most challenging and you need to test on hundreds of variables in the most common methods of testing that includes SPLIT TESTING, A/B testing, MULTIVARIATE testing. Effective tests will help you lift revenue.

Conclusion:

Anything is possible, if executed correctly. If you are new to landing page optimizations, just keep your patient. You need any help, please feel free to shoot me an e-mail.